Cory Hedgecock

2023 Winners


Iron-Man Late Model Series

Cory Hedgecock Claims Valvoline Iron-Man Late Model Southern Series 11th Annual Scott Sexton Memorial Win at 411 Motor Speedway

SEYMOUR, TENNESSEE (May 29, 2023)– The Valvoline Iron-Man Late Model Southern Series would conclude its 2023 Memorial Day weekend race swing at 411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, TN for the 11th Annual Scott Sexton Memorial and Cory Hedgecock of Loudon, TN would take the lead on lap eight and drive to his second Scott Sexton Memorial (previous win came in 2020) victory and claim the $5,052 payday.

The win by the 30-year old Hedgecock would be his tenth career Valvoline Iron-Man Late Model Series victory and would come behind the wheel of his BMF Race Car powered by an Eagle Race Engine with sponsorship from E-Z-GO, STI Trucking, K&P Used Cars, W.E. Hardscapes and Masonry, Currin Construction, Circle H Services, Noble Knights Construction, CH Enterprises, Powers Machine, Cobb’s NAPA Auto Parts, and Vineyard Construction.

The next events for the Valvoline Iron-Man Late Model Southern Series will be on Friday June 16 at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, KY and Saturday June 17 at Lake Cumberland Speedway in Burnside, KY for the Hall of Fame Classic weekend, with each event paying $7,500 to win and $500 to start. These two events will also be points races for the Valvoline Iron-Man Late Model Northern Series.

Outside front row starter Ricky Weiss would grab the race lead at the drop of the green flag of the 11th Annual Scott Sexton Memorial Valvoline A-Main event, with Cory Hedgecock, Jenson Ford, Dakotah Knuckles, and Donald McIntosh giving chase. The front four would remain the same, while Booger Brooks would work past McIntosh for fifth on lap five. Hedgecock would close in on Weiss at this point and begin to pressure Weiss for the top spot as the front duo was about to start working lapped traffic and take the top spot from Weiss on lap eight, while Dakotah Knuckles would claim fifth from Brooks on the same circuit. The first of four caution periods in the event would occur on lap twelve when Kenneth Howell’s machine would slow on the frontchute. The restart would see Hedgecock maintain the lead, with Weiss, Ford, Knuckles, and McIntosh in pursuit. Hedgecock would gradually pull away from the field and would begin working lapped traffic again on lap twenty-two. Knuckles and McIntosh would battle for fourth at this point and McIntosh would take the position on lap twenty-three and one lap later, McIntosh would claim third from Ford while Mack McCarter would drive past Knuckles for fifth on the same lap. The caution would wave again on lap twenty-six when James Kelso would see his mount start putting down some liquid on the racing surface. The front five would remain the same on the restart until lap twenty-nine when McCarter would claim fourth from Ford. Knuckles, who would be seventh at this time, would spin his entry in turn one to trigger the third caution of the race and on this restart, the front five would remain the same as the final caution of the race appeared one circuit later for a turn four spin by Thomas Langley. The final restart would see Hedgecock continue to lead, with Weiss second, while McCarter and Ford would begin to battle for third, with McCarter taking the spot on lap thirty-five. Hedgecock would maintain a comfortable advantage over the final few circuits and claim the victory, with Weiss taking second, while McIntosh would work past McCarter exiting turn four on the final lap to finish third. McCarter would settle for fourth, while Ford would complete the top five. The remainder of the top ten would be Josh Henry, Adam Ahl, Chase Oliver, Tristan Chamberlain, and Chase King.

For more information about the Valvoline Iron-Man Late Model Series, please contact Chris Tilley at (828) 361-5981 or visit the tour’s webpage at or visit the tour page Iron-Man Racing Series on Facebook and Iron-Man Series (@CTPROMOTE) on Twitter.

The Valvoline Iron-Man Late Model Series would like to thank the following sponsors and marketing partners for their support of the 2023 racing season: Valvoline, Zerex by Valvoline, Brucebilt Performance Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire, E-Z-GO, Sunoco Race Fuels, Bazell Race Fuels, SFP Performance Systems, MyRacePass, Impact Race Gear, XS Power Batteries, Vic Hill Racing Engines, Racecar Engineering, American Racer Tires, Keltner Contracting, Todd Steel Buildings, TW Taylor Trucking, Earnhardt Technologies Group, Weichert Realtors-Ford Brothers (Judith Dyehouse-Agent), Swafford Signs, KY Clutch, DIRTCAR Racing, Brown Haven Homes, Knowles Race Parts and Bodies, Coosa Heating and Cooling, Stakt Products, KND Safety, Chattanooga Valley Auto Parts, PopBit, Denby’s J&J Construction, Jim and Nancy Viox, Advanced Transportation, Lowe’s Tows, Reno’s Roadhouse, and Racetrack Safety Initiative.

About Valvoline™
Valvoline Inc. (NYSE: VVV) is a leading worldwide marketer and supplier of premium branded lubricants and automotive services, with sales in more than 140 countries. Established in 1866, the company’s heritage spans more than 150 years, during which time it has developed powerful brand recognition across multiple product and service channels. Valvoline ranks as the No. 3 passenger car motor oil brand in the DIY market by volume. It operates and franchises approximately 1,400 quick-lube locations, and it is the No. 2 chain by number of stores in the United States under the Valvoline Instant Oil ChangeSM brand and the No. 3 chain by number of stores in Canada under the Valvoline Great Canadian Oil Change brand. It also markets Valvoline lubricants and automotive chemicals, including the Valvoline High Mileage with MaxLife technology motor oil for engines over 75,000 miles; Valvoline Advanced Full Synthetic motor oil; Valvoline Premium Blue™ heavy-duty motor oil; Valvoline Multi-Vehicle Automatic Transmission Fluid; and Zerex™ antifreeze. To learn more, visit

Official Summary of Results
Feature Results for the Valvoline Iron-Man Late Model Southern Series 11th Annual Scott Sexton Memorial at 411 Motor Speedway in Seymourl, TN on Monday May 29, 2023

  1. Cory Hedgecock-Loudon, Tenn.
  2. Ricky Weiss-Monterrey, Tenn.
  3. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
  4. Mack McCarter-Gatlinburg, Tenn.
  5. Jensen Ford-Johnson City, Tenn.
  6. Josh Henry-Newport, Tenn.
  7. Adam Ahl-Morristown, Tenn.
  8. Chase Oliver-Crossville, Ala.
  9. Tristan Chamberlain-Richmond, Ind.
  10. Chase King-Seymour, Tenn.
  11. Dakotah Knuckles-Ewing, Va.
  12. Mike Bargo-Corbin, Ky.
  13. Jake Whitehead-Maryville, Tenn.
  14. Thomas Langley-Parrish, Ala.
  15. Rusty Ballenger-Seymour, Tenn.
  16. Stacy Boles-Clinton, Tenn.
  17. James Kelso-Maryville, Tenn.
  18. Austin Neely-New Tazewell, Tenn.
  19. Booger Brooks-Chickamauga, Ga.
  20. Kenneth Howell-Inez, Ky.
  21. Tim Bounds-Knoxville, Tenn.

Time of Race: 20 minutes, 46 seconds
Margin of Victory: 1.860 seconds
Yellow Flags: Four (lap 12, 26, 30, 31)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Ricky Weiss 1-7, Cory Hedgecock 8-40
Entries: 21
E-Z-GO Time Trials Top Qualifier: Cory Hedgecock 14.447 seconds
SFP Performance Systems Hard Charger Award ($100 product certificate): Chase Oliver (started 14th-finished 8th-advanced 6 positions)
Provisionals: None

Back to News

Upcoming Events

Schedule TBA

Race Stats

  • Events27
  • Wins1
  • Top 57
  • Top 1011
Eagle Racing Engines
STI Service Transport
KP Used Cars
W.E. Hardscapes  Masonry
Integra Racing Shocks
Keyser Manufacturing
SFP Performance Systems
Currin Construction
Circle H Services
Noble Knights Construction Services
BMF Race Cars
CH Enterprises
Powers Machine
Cobb’s Auto Parts
Pro FABrication Headers  Exhaust
Accu-Force Shock Dyno
Vineyard Construction
Winters Rearends
Quick Car
Brucebilt Performance
Martel Signs
Hoosier Racing Tires
VP Race Fuels

Latest Photos

2024 Season